a community chorus in their 28th Concert season

About Us

The Eastern Shore Choral Society has been a part of Baldwin County 

for 28 years.  Since 1992, the ESCS has been committed to bringing amazing choral music to the Eastern Shore.  The Choral Society is a non-auditioned community chorus comprised of members who love to sing, high school age to the young at heart, with a wide variety of musical skills.  The only requirements to be part of the ESCS family is the ability to match pitch, a commitment to attend rehearsals, and have an absolute love of singing. In 2011, the ESCS was composed of 45 singers.  In just 8 years, we’ve grown to over 100.

Here at the ESCS, we strive every concert season to bring our audiences an entertaining and enriching choral program of the highest quality and amazing variety.  In recent years, we have performed such large classical works as Haydn’s Nelson Mass, Vaughan Williams’ Serenade to Music, Rutter’s Requiem, Vivaldi’s Gloria, and Handel’s Messiah, along with lighter programs that include spirituals, Patriotic and American Folk numbers, and Sacred Harp music.  Past seasons have included standard greats of choral literature by Morten Lauridson, Rachmaninoff, Aaron Copland, Emma Lou Diemer, Dan Forrest, popular Broadway hits and the music of the early 1900s. The music we present each season provides something for everyone.

Community plays a very important role in the success of the ESCS.  

We are very thankful for all of the community support and we look to the community for ways to return that generosity.  In past years, the ESCS has performed a Veteran’s Day Concert and participated in a community Gospel Fest that help raise funds for the local Rotary Youth Club.  We’ve also performed with the Baldwin Pops, a local community band, at the July 4th concerts in Fairhope.  In the Spring of 2018, the ESCS was honored to sing with the Mobile Symphony Orchestra for their performance of Mahler’s 2nd Symphony and later that same year, 

we were the feature chorus for the MSO’s Holiday Concert.  In June 2018, twenty-seven members of the ESCS had the honor of traveling to New York City to perform Dan Forrest’s amazing Jubilate Deo at Carnegie Hall with choral groups from across the country.

While one of the main goals of the ESCS is the entertainment of our audience, an even bigger mission is to provide financial support to local choral programs in Baldwin County middle and high schools.  We understand the importance that the study of music has and its lifelong impact on the lives of young people. We continue to encourage, foster, and nurture future musicians and music educators.  If you believe as we do, please consider becoming a supporter of the ESCS and join in our quest to make music a part of every student’s life.  

What Others Say About Us

"I've not been this excited in a very long time, musically. Last night's concert was beautiful and so up-lifting."

"It was wonderful. Nice variety of selections. So glad I was able to attend!"

"The concert Sunday night was truly thrilling. You guys rock!"

"The Nelson Mass last evening was a Divine performance. My husband and I marveled at the phenomenal talent and dedication of all. Thank you all for the diligent hours! The Eastern Shore is fortunate to have you all here. The Serenade to Music was equally superb. We thought we had spent an evening in New York. Dinner al fresco afterwards. A perfect date night. "

"Thank you for the musical program April 29. I grew up listening to this beautiful music. How I would love to hear this program over and over. Please, please decide now to have the Choral Society perform it again next Spring 2019."

"It was an outstanding showing of fabulous talent. From the opening remarks to the last note Joe hit on the piano and Mary Katherine conducted, was wonderful. I appreciate all the members of the Eastern Shore Choral Society. The dedication to hours of practice, time away from families, and the sharing of one's God given talents for others to enjoy. Looking forward to the next concert."

Joe Rambo, Mary Katherine Kilgore, Monika Cosson, and Patrick Jacobs
Joe Rambo, Mary Katherine Kilgore, Monika Cosson, and Patrick Jacobs



Artistic Director, Mary Katherine Kilgore

Mary Katherine Kilgore is in her 8th season as Artistic Director of the Eastern Shore Choral Society. She is a native of Forsyth, Georgia and received her Bachelor of Music degree in Organ Performance from Valdosta State University. Her post graduate studies in voice, opera and choral conducting were at Clayton College and State University in Morrow, GA and at the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa.  Mary Katherine is a talented and accomplished conductor and musician. She has been a member of several choral groups in Georgia and Alabama, including the Mobile Opera Chorus. She taught piano and voice privately for over 20 years and has been selected to judge numerous piano, vocal and choral competitions. Mary Katherine served on the Board of the Alabama Chapter of the American Choral Director’s Association for four years. After serving 17 years in full time church music ministry, Mary Katherine has begun a new journey. Beginning in August 2019 she will be teaching chorus at St. Michael Catholic High School in Fairhope. Mary Katherine and her family have lived in Fairhope since 2005.


Accompanist, Joe Rambo

ESCS’s  gifted Accompanist, Joe Rambo, is a native of Montgomery, Alabama.  While living there, he received his BA in Chemistry, with minors in Biology  and Church Music, from Huntingdon College, where he  also met his wife Elisa.  From there, they both attended graduate school  at Indiana University, where Joe received a  Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry. Following  a year of post-doctoral studies in Paris, Elisa and Joe moved to  Fairhope where they have lived since 1994.  After working for many years  in education, both as a teacher and administrator,  Joe returned to the classroom to pursue a degree in  pharmacy. Graduating in  May 2016, Joe currently works as a  pharmacist at Mobile Infirmary. Musically, Joe serves as Organist for Trinity Presbyterian Church in Fairhope.


Board of Directors 2019 - 2020

President  - Dee Pace

Past President - Donna Wilson

Vice-President  - Ellen Jones

Treasurer - Earl Jackson

Secretary - Jim DiSebastian

Soprano Section Leader - Vicki Dale-Knopf

Alto Section Leader - Jerry Franklin

Tenor Section Leader - Leah Bond

Bass Section Leader - Brit Taylor

Members At Large - Peggy Barham,  Joan Bramlett, Ron Burkett, and Chance Dorsey

Music Librarians - Patti Lewis and Brinda Martin